Tomorrow, 12 December 2018, at 19:00 hrs, at the MKC Club Restaurant in Skopje, the winners of this year's awards for best journalistic news item, best professional photography and best amateur photography will be announced by Ambassador Samuel ŽBOGAR and the Honorary President of the Jean Monnet Jury Nadezda GACE.

At the event, addresses will be delivered by:

H.E. Samuel ŽBOGAR, Ambassador, Head of the Delegation of the European Union
Ms Nadezda GACE, Director and Editor-in-chief, Novi Magazin weekly, Serbia and
Ms Marina TUNEVA, Council for Media Ethics

This year, for the 16th time, the EU Delegation, in partnership with the Council for Media Ethics is bestowing the Jean Monnet award for Best News Item and Best Reporters’ Photography covering issues on the topic "Building trust in uncertain times". The award for Best Amateur Photography will be granted under the “Our diversity, our strength” theme.

This year, the Jean Monnet jury is presided by Mrs Nadezda GACE, currently Director and Editor-in-chief at Novi Magazin weekly, and has a long-standing experience as editor of major Serbian media, such as TV Beograd, Borba, Danas. She has also been a president of the Serbian association of journalists.

The award constitutes of small statuettes for all the winners and a voucher for technical equipment in an amount of EUR 1,000 for the best news item and best professional photography winners, as well as a 500 Euro voucher for technical equipment, for the best amateur photography winner.

We would kindly like to invite the media to cover this event.

For information relating to this Press Release please contact Ms Eleonora Poposka, Press and Information Officer. Tel: +389 (0)2 3248 500. E-mail:


Wednesday, 12 December 2018
19:00 – 21:00 hrs
MKC Club Restaurant

19:00 – 19:15 Opening remarks by the moderator, Marina TUNEVA, Council of Media Ethics Presentation of the video “For the freedom of expression in one voice”

19:15 - 19:20 Welcome address by Ambassador Samuel ŽBOGAR, Head of EU Delegation

19:20 - 19:25 Welcome address by Nadezda GACE, Honorary President of the Jury

19:25 - 19:40 Handing out of the award for Best Amateur Photography by Ambassador Samuel Žbogar and short remarks by the winner

Handing out of the award for Best Reporter’s Photography by Ambassador Samuel Žbogar and short remarks by the winner

Handing out of the award for Best News Item by Mrs Nadezda Gace and short remarks by the winner

19:40 - 19:45 Closing of the event by the moderator

19:45 - 21:00 Cocktail

footer soo12